The word of God

The word of God

Someone asked me the other day, “What does the word of God mean to me?”

God answered it for me, by speaking to me saying, ‘Your experiences do not define me, I define your experiences.’

The word of God tells me who I am and it is by that definition that I live. I remember when I first met Jesus. I, at first didn’t know what to do next, but this didn’t last long. I started to read the word of God and it was in doing so that the supernatural guidance originating from inside of me that I now know of more confidently first spoke. It began to teach me, guide me, correct me, lead me. The word of God confirmed itself at every step. I began seeing parallels between what I began and continued to experience and what the word of God had said would happen to someone who saw the evilness of their sin, believed in Jesus, loved God, gave up their life for him. I began to see a before and after of myself as described by the word of God. These teaching moments were not strange..these moments of revelation (of God’s character and nature as well as of mine). Scripture became real.

I related with Paul, because I had an encounter with Jesus similar to that of the Damascus Road experience (Acts 9: 1-17)

The Holy Spirit testified to my spirit that I was now a child of God (Romans 8:16)

I finally understood Scripture, as though my eyes had been blurry to it before. The Holy Spirit that now resides in me began to give me understanding and spiritual power to live upright. (John 16:13 –> “When He, the Spirit of truth, comes, He will guide you into all the truth; for He will not speak on His own initiative, but whatever He hears, He will speak; and He will disclose to you what is to come”).

And the word of God also explained to me that the old was gone, so I let it go, because the new had come. ( 2 Corinthians 5:17 –> “Therefore if anyone is in Christ, [c]he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come”).

And the word of God comforted me to know that my new conviction was not strange, because it was only by the regeneration of the Holy Spirit that I could believe what I’d come to believe after meeting Jesus. (1 Corinthians 12:3 –> “Therefore I want you to know that no one who is speaking by the Spirit of God says, “Jesus be cursed,” and no one can say, “Jesus is Lord,” except by the Holy Spirit.”)

…and the word of God continues to teach me so much about God and about myself. Who better to learn the characters, plot and purpose than the author

Leave a Reply

