Church?

As I continue to ponder what the Church really looks like, I want to share my thoughts.

You know there is a whole ‘Christian’ church out here full of non-Christians. A Christian follows Jesus…that is actually the meaning of the word, ‘Christian’. And, there is a fake ‘church’ – a pagan church…a church that is not following Christ…they don’t even know who he is. A church full of persons mimicking the things of God, without his power (having a form of Godliness but no power). Of course, Satan loves this. He created it, inspired it. Ever since the days of the Roman Emperor Constantine, and beginning with his (Constantine’s) ‘conversion’ which was really a means of controlling the then populace, there have been a number of bastardized versions of ‘church’ that do not even begin to describe the real church of God.

Listen, that was just a brief intro to what I’m going to be continuing to share about the first rule. For more info, I’m going to give you easy reading here, so instead of reading a gazillion history texts, if reading is not your strong point, pick up a copy of ‘Pagan Christianity’ by Frank Viola and George Barna (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001O2S58W?ie=UTF8&tag=reimagchurch-20&linkCode=xm2&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B001O2S58W) that lays it out very simply and tacitly.

“I love God or I want to love God but I hate the church” – I’ve heard that many times. And I can’t be mad at anyone who says that, because the Christian church that parades as the Christian church will not be known for it’s love. In the bible, Jesus told his disciples “As I have loved you, so must you love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another” When you meet the true church of God, the love they have for one another will be evident and undeniable. Another thing I will eventually deal with I imagine is what this ‘love’ looks like through God’s lens…because wow, even that word (love) has been twisted into an ugly contortion of it’s true meaning.

Leave a Reply

