title: song retrofitted

188,611,200 seconds ago I was stumbled upon

So, “life didn’t have meaning before?”
before 311 weeks ago…before 52,392 minutes ago
before 3,143,520 milliseconds ago…
…my truthful answer?
“No”

2183 days ago, the crafting of a new being
fashioned itself among unseen whispers
quiet moments
stolen glances lifted
retrofitted
windowed by sonnets
opened so the bird could sing
freed from the breaking throbs of silence
supposing…
supposing that this window would never close to
the dearth
..meaning…before
…before 2183 days ago
there was life there,
but there is so much fullness of it here,
so much certain uncertainty
like being a baby
knowing only that four pairs of arms
carry, feed and love me

closed windows,
open halls that reverb with fullness
i bow
the bows resound

each second counts
in the masterpiece
the conductor purses his lips
and waves
the hair on my forearm raises as i raise my eyebrows,
in an excited inner pace
and wait for his arm to drop
my staccato stops

[exhale]

yes, exhale..
no…
before?
2183 days before?
…now
I surrendered my instruments
to piety and the birds swooped in and out
in to rescue, out to guide
with a poise
that nature booms in daily rhythmic instruction
my senses blur
it’s my turn
i join the symphony
play my lady, play

Encore…!

by janberry © 2012
completed: April 5th, 2012 at 1500 hrs, 4 minutes, 25 milliseconds,


Leave a Reply

