From Feelings to Faith…

You know, if there is one thing we can extract from David’s life is his self-encouragement…the way he spoke himself into praising, honoring, praying to, waiting upon and worshipping God.

For sometime now, there has been an audible fight within me, between the body and the spirit, on one particular point of contention: consistency. It’s awesome that I have a big Daddy who I can talk to at any time, at any place and under any condition, but he yearns for me to guard my heart from warmth.  This coolness is the slow death of my fervor in serving him consistently. This frigidity lies calmly at the feet of attending to needs that pale in comparison to the richness of my relationship with Him. …one more minute in bed turns into one hundred, one more day away from the word of God turns into five, and all the while my heart is cringing, crying and begging to see it’s loved one…God.


I need a religion. I need to walk that line of ‘waiting on God’ for his spirit’s anticipation of itself. Isn’t that ironic by the way? God has placed his very own Spirit in me to spur me towards him, and covered me over with robes of righteousness as a protection against lies and taunts that keep me from doing just that. I’d been previously made to believe that I was a slave to the mindlessness of serving my self…doing all that I please when I please. I asked myself this question a while back and it’s about time I asked it again – It’s been easy to stop a lot of things: sleeping around, smoking weed and such (believe it or not, these things are not a difficult thing to turn your back on..once you get ‘clean’, sobriety becomes easier and easier)…but how easy is it to consistently pray, study, and wait on God? My particular struggle is that I get prideful when I’m consistently doing the ‘right’ things. Avoiding pride, however, isn’t a good reason to ‘NOT’ do something, aside from which, God is SO much bigger than the way I ‘feel’.

It’s VERY easy to be trapped by my body’s natural needs, by the way I feel, by habitual thinking patterns, and by a flare-up of pride at the thought of doing what someone else wants me to do [notwithstanding that the ‘somebody’ is God]. We underestimate how very resistent our ‘selves’ are to the ways and things of God.

Let us continue to fight to continuously ‘abide’ in Christ, who is our strength, our rock and our salvation…these three things truly mean everything to our existence. We shall see fruit in our lives, as we abide in him…as we move from feelings to faith: as we stand on our ‘rock’ unmoving in faith, as we surrender our weaknesses to him in exchange for his ‘strength’ and as we rely on him to continue to ‘save’ us and bring us out of the many dark spots in our lives. Let us never stop saying to our souls, “Bless the Lord, oh my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name” as David said in Psalm 103:1.

Psalm 62 is one of the many examples of David’s consistent, persistent pressing in to God. In many of his Psalms, though he was weary, lied about and sought after, he reminded himself…God is my strength, I will NOT be moved.

Psalm 62

1 Truly my soul finds rest in God;
my salvation comes from him.
2 Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

 3 How long will you assault me?
Would all of you throw me down—
this leaning wall, this tottering fence?
4 Surely they intend to topple me
from my lofty place;
they take delight in lies.
With their mouths they bless,
but in their hearts they curse.

 5 Yes, my soul, find rest in God;
my hope comes from him.
6 Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
7 My salvation and my honor depend on God;
he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
8 Trust in him at all times, you people;
pour out your hearts to him,
for God is our refuge.

 9 Surely the lowborn are but a breath,
the highborn are but a lie.
If weighed on a balance, they are nothing;
together they are only a breath.
10 Do not trust in extortion
or put vain hope in stolen goods;
though your riches increase,
do not set your heart on them.

 11 One thing God has spoken,
two things I have heard:
“Power belongs to you, God,
12 and with you, Lord, is unfailing love”;
and, “You reward everyone
according to what they have done.”

Leave a Reply

