Now. Instead.

My flight would have arrived in thirty-one minutes and the escape does not now escape my thoughts. I want to be happy and thankful that it did not go as planned so I drivel away the time chasing another plan – no time to slow down and register the shock of the tears I’d rather have now – of joy mixed with grief – mixed with relief.

Instead.

I dig my feet into the grime and dirt of now and work hard to build the dreams of those I don’t yet know – maybe that is worth more than if I go.

©. janberry. 2011.

Leave a Reply

