Many Lies; One Truth

The following is a talk I gave at Agape Church to it’s youth group about two months ago.

I’d lived the thought life of a lesbian for 13 years, and the lifestyle of a lesbian for 8 years. I want to proclaim tonight that God has delivered me from both and I am walking out my healing and redemption through trust in Him.

The homosexual life is primarily a distortion. It is pushing the truth to one side in favor of a lie. The lies are many, the truth is singular. The truth is Jesus Christ.

I want to expose some of those lies this evening.

God made me the wrong gender
This could never be true. God had said to Jeremiah (Jeremiah 1:5 – Holy Bible) and he says to you as well, “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. God knew the gender he wanted you to be, of which there are only two, by the way.
There is beauty in being the gender that God created you to be, because there are unique aspects that he placed within woman and within man, which mesh wonderfully. There is beauty in wholeness as a man, there is beauty in wholeness as a woman.

God doesn’t love you
God loves you very much. He said to the Israelites and he says to those who believe in his son, “For the mountains may move and the hills disappear, but even then my faithful love for you will remain. My covenant of blessing will never be broken.” (Isaiah 54:10 – Holy Bible)
God wants to love you but he also wants yo provide you with a family – a loving community of believers who you can love and who can love you. It is as important to love others as to know that you are loved and to experience that. “Love each other as brothers and sisters.” (1 Peter 3:8 – Holy Bible)

Abuse is my fault. I deserve it.
If you’ve suffered any type of abuse (verbal, physical or sexual), go home tonight and look yourself in the mirror and say, “I did not deserve that and it certainly wasn’t my fault. Nothing that I am now, or ever was caused abuse.”
Abuse originates because of the fallen nature of us human beings but rebirth is possible through the Holy Spirit sent from God, both for you as well as your abuser.
Jesus said to Nicodemus and he says to you, “I assure you, no one can enter the kingdom of God without being born of water and the Spirit. Humans can reproduce only human life but the Holy Spirit gives birth to spiritual life.” (John 3: 5, 6 – Holy Bible) And that birth that the Holy Spirit generates grows and matures. God will lead you to, as well as bring for you, the correct nurturing and care to develop wholeness. All he needs is your co-operation and openness.

Ending Prayer: Lord Jesus, we pray for submission to your work of wholeness. Father, we pray O God for a correct view of what it means to be a boy or girl, man or woman and we thank you for making us who we are. God, we pray for the correct people to enter our lives to partner with you in transforming our self-image. Give us patience with ourselves God until that lovely day when we agree with you and say, fully believing it, that we are made beautiful and are fearfully and wonderfully made. In Jesus name, we pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

