Identity

Identity

Run (Run)
Run (Run)
Run (Run)
Run (Run)
Run (Run)
to me

Verse 1:

I remember sitting on the edge of the bed
letting the identity
that was wrapped in the woman in love with me
let go, let go the love I had for her
for you, let go for all you said was true
and now the bends are high and twisting
rough I sometimes think I missed it
meandering
I, nose down, dive into the misfit

Chorus:

identity,
my identity
scored by the God who died for me
is a novelty
an idea remade
I scrimmage
to the line of hope
tuck myself under my arm
spirit running
touchdown
nose down, in the good news
though a bit bruised

Verse 2:

and God doesn’t use perfect
and I don’t understand why
and God doesn’t use perfect
and I don’t understand why
when perfect is all my heart has ever cried
when the coaches sat on the bench
and the teammates that they sent
would take my ball away
but a light flooded in
my eyes, though grey
caught this day
and ran
while the new coach sang
so I ran

Chorus:

my identity
scored by the God who died for me
is a novelty
an idea remade
I scrimmage
to the line of hope
tuck myself under my arm
spirit running
touchdown
nose down, in the good news
though a bit bruised

Bridge:

perfect, the identity
is not what Abba has for me
you’re not you’re own
because I want you to be free
says God, my new identity

Break:

Run (Run)
Run (Run)
Run (Run)
Run (Run)
Run (Run)
to me

Run (Run)
Run (Run)
Run (Run)
Run (Run)
Run (Run)
to me

Chorus:

identity,
my identity
scored by the God who died for me
is a novelty
an idea remade
I scrimmage
to the line of hope
tuck myself under my arm
spirit running
touchdown
nose down, in the good news
though a bit bruised (2x)

copyright © 2010 Janberry

inspired by Ephesians 1: 18  – 20 & 1 Corinthians 6: 19 – 20

God floods our heart with light and it is in this light that we understand this incredible hope that God has blessed us with. It is this hope that keeps us going, even though we are not perfect. We are so much, even now, in this imperfect state, we are God’s rich and glorious inheritance. This also brings to the fore, another reality, that we are God’s inheritance, “bought with a price”, and are therefore, “not our own”…We are slaves to righteousness, by God’s design so that we can be free from being slaves of iniquity. It is a necessary imprisonment. Freedom, given by God..yes, we are free indeed.

This incredible greatness LIVES IN US….(AWESOME!) and because of this….we can never be so down that we are out…because greatness is not outside of us, next to us, near to us or far from us but IN US!!!! and this is the SAME mighty power that raised Jesus from the dead, so TRUST that any type of depression, sadness or grief can be raised to peace, joy and abundant life because of this power that lives IN US.

“SMILE……JESUS LOVES YOU”, a friend told me recently and I repeat the same to you…yessum!

Leave a Reply

